Cookies

We use cookies to help you get the most out of our website. See our cookies policy. Continue or close this message to allow all cookies.

Close

Frequently asked questions

We’ve collected a whole bunch of answers for your most frequently asked questions. If you can't find your question in the list below, please contact us. We’ll be happy to help.

Allergy & special diet

Which of your products are suitable for a Vegetarian diet?

Click here to check the suitability of our products.

Visit the Vegetarian Society website www.vegsoc.org

Which of your products are suitable for a Vegan diet?

Unfortunately, none of our Alpen products are suitable for a Vegan diet.

Visit the Vegan Society website www.vegansociety.com

 

Which of your products are suitable for a Halal diet?

Please refer to our lists of suitability for vegetarian and vegan diets.

Where whey powder is used as an ingredient, it is appropriate for vegetarians.

Where products contain a flavour it may be on an alcohol carrier, albeit at low level or alcohol may have been used in the manufacture of the flavour.

Any flavour/flavouring will be detailed in ingredients lists.

You may also wish to contact your religious leader for verification of suitability of these products.

Which of your products are milk/lactose ingredient free?

Some products in our range are milk/lactose ingredient free. Check here for the suitability of all of our products

For more information about allergies and food intolerance you may like to visit the Anaphylaxis Campaign website: www.anaphylaxis.org.uk or the Allergy UK website:www.allergyuk.org

Which of your products are soya ingredient free?

Many products in our range are soya ingredient free. Click here to view the suitability of all our products

For more information about allergies and food intolerance you may like to visit the Anaphylaxis Campaign website: www.anaphylaxis.org.uk or the Allergy UK website: www.allergyuk.org

Which of your products are suitable for a Coeliac diet?

All our products contain gluten from either wheat, barley or oats. Click here for a full list of our products.

Our oat based breakfast cereal, Ready brek may be suitable for some Coeliacs depending on their tolerance to oats.

Ready brek hot oat cereals do not contain any wheat or barley ingredients.

Oatibix biscuits and Oatibix Flakes are wheat ingredient free but they contain malted barley extract and are produced on a line on which Weetabix and other wheat based flakes are made. Of course, the lines are cleaned thoroughly between production runs.

Weetabix Oaty Bars contain wheat, oat and barley.

If you want to enjoy the benefit of oats we recommend you discuss this fully with your GP or dietician before doing so. This is because some coeliacs, and others with wheat intolerance, may be sensitive to pure oats. In addition, all oat products can contain small quantities of other grains such as wheat and/or barley.

Click here to see the Oatibix range.
Click here to see the Ready brek product range.
Visit the Coeliac UK website.

 

Do any of your products contain nuts or peanuts?

Yes and some products are made in factories and on lines where peanuts and nuts are used.

But many of our products are suitable for nut allergy sufferers.

You can keep you up to date with nut status issues as things change, for example, when new products are introduced, by checking our website or contacting our Consumer Services Team, please use the enquiry form or call 0800 212457.

You can view and download our nut list by clicking here now.

For more information about allergies and food intolerance you may like to visit the Anaphylaxis Campaign website: www.anaphylaxis.org.uk or the Allergy UK website: www.allergyuk.org

Corporate & environment

What are your packaging materials made of?

You may be aware of an updated EFSA (European Food Standards agency) paper published on 28th Aug 2013. The report confirms that Mineral oils can be used as solvents in inks for printing newspapers and magazines and that newspapers can be present in recycled board. This report stated that the industry-wide issue could potentially affect any food products using recycled board containing newspaper.

Whilst the board we used was considered by the UK Food standards Agency to be safe we have elected to eliminate any cause for concern whatsoever and have chosen to change our packaging.

We are pleased to share with you that we have sourced new cardboard to eliminate any doubt that mineral hydrocarbons could be contained within our packaging.

In addition to this, we were guided by the UK Food Standards Agency whose current advice is that there are no immediate health concerns.

Weetabix takes great care to minimise any risk by ensuring the inks used to print our packaging do not contain mineral hydrocarbons and are safe for use on food packaging. Our cardboard packaging is, of course, recyclable.

We do hope that you like the new packaging and understand our reason for change. We look forward to you enjoying your Weetabix for many years to come.

Can your packaging be recycled?

All our packaging now contains on-pack recycling logos to help you identify which parts you can recycle and which are not currently recycled. Our cardboard cartons are widely recycled by local councils as part of their kerbside collection schemes. These are often turned into more cardboard, although some councils compost the cartons instead. At the moment our plastic-based packaging is not recycled by many local councils. The inner bags used for most of our cereals can be recycled with shopping bags at larger retailers. We are however, working closely with a number of organisations and our suppliers to improve the recycling of these materials.

You can find out more about recycling in your area by visiting recyclenow which provides useful information to help you recycle your packaging and explains how on-pack recycling logos work.

Product availability

I can’t find one of your products. Can you help?

We are sorry you have had difficulty finding our products.

The following are no longer being made:

 

Alpen Apple, Blackberry & Yogurt bars
Alpen Apricot & Yogurt bars
Alpen Apricot, Almond & Hazelnut
Alpen Light Bars Chocolate & Orange
Alpen Blackberry & Apple
Alpen Cappuccino
Alpen Caribbean Crunch/Tropical
Alpen Groove bars
Alpen High Fruit
Alpen Luxury Granolas
Alpen Luxury Nut Crunch
Alpen Luxury Oat Flakes & Clusters
Alpen Nutty Crunch
Alpen Oat Flakes Pecan & Cherry
Alpen Strawberry
Alpen Light - Citrus Fruit Bars

If you need help regarding any of other breakfast cereals and bars please complete our enquiry form and we will contact you.

You might also be interested in